Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started

“In Conversation” Series

SAAS Young Scholar’s “In Conversation” is an interview series organized by the Reading Group of the early-career research network of the Spanish Association for American Studies, SAAS Young Scholars. It brings together experts in the field of US studies from several American universities working on different genres, cultural paradigms, and literary conventions.

Registration is required. The “In Conversation” series will be held online, via Zoom, in October 2022. Anyone
who wishes to attend the sessions is expected to register, by sending an email to reading.saas.ys@gmail.com indicating your full name and email address, and whether you want to receive a certificate of attendance or not. Please, use the phrase “In Conversation sign-up” as the subject of your email too.
The text to be discussed for each session as well as the link to connect to the zoom meeting will be sent upon registration.

This event is free of charge. Anyone who wants to attend the series and receive official certification of attendance must be registered. Certificates of attendance will be issued after the event has finalized.


Alexis Lothian

Friday, Oct. 7
6 pm (CEST), 12 pm (EST)
Text: “The Future’s Queer Histories” (2018).

Raquel Kennon

Friday, Oct. 21
5 pm (CEST), 10 am (CST)
Text: “Subtle Resistance: On Sugar and the Mammy Figure in Kara Walker’s A Subtlety and Sherley Anne Williams’s Dessa Rose” (2022).

Rebeca L. Hey-Colón

Friday, Nov. 4
4 pm (CET), 10 am (EDT)
Text: “‘Por el Mar que nos Une.’ boat people’s Living Waters” (2021).

Stacy Wolf

Thursday, Oct. 13
5 pm (CEST), 11 am (EDT)
Text: “Defying Gravity: Queer Conventions in the Musical Wicked” (2008).

Heather Berg

Friday, Oct. 28
4 pm (CEST), 9 am(CST)
Text: “Left of ‘Me Too’” (2020).

Advertisement